Home Youth empowerment John Lennon Inspired Song Contest Finalists to Compete at the Cavern Club

John Lennon Inspired Song Contest Finalists to Compete at the Cavern Club


Ten songwriters from around the world will perform their pieces in the final of a competition inspired by John Lennon’s hymn to peace, Imagine.

The International Song for Kindness competition was launched on October 9 on the occasion of what would have been the musician’s 80th birthday.

A year later, 10 contestants chosen from more than 1,500 entries from 28 countries will perform at the Cavern Club in Liverpool, which played regularly to welcome the Beatles in their debut.

Ten finalists will compete at the Cavern Club of Liverpool in the International Song for Kindness competition (tuff.earth/PA)

Six British singers, two Australians, a Norwegian and a Nigerian will compete in the famous hall on October 9.

The winner of the competition, organized by the tuff.earth youth empowerment charity, will have their song professionally produced, mixed and mastered at the Liverpool Motor Museum studio.

Among the judges will be songwriter Andrew Roachford, best known for the single Cuddly Toy with his eponymous band Roachford.

Andrew Roachford

Contest judge Andrew Roachford, best known for the successful Cuddly Toy (tuff.earth/PA)

Dr Shamender Talwar, co-founder of tuff.earth, said: “The response to our call for songs that promote kindness has resonated around the world and the response has been overwhelming. Kindness sometimes seems to be short-term these days but it’s eternally important, and the songs we’ve received reflect that need.

“We are delighted and grateful that so many took on this challenge and congratulate those who made the top 10 and wish them all the best of luck in the final showcase.”

The finalists are Rhona Macfarlane, from Glasgow; Tony McCaldon, from Liverpool; Taofeek Oyeyemi, from Nigeria; Neil Thomas, from London; Jonny Fowlds, from Wirral, Merseyside; Zsuzi & Anth, from Melbourne, Australia; Beans Maries, from Queensland, Australia; Paulin Skoglund-Voss, from Drobak, Norway; Adonye Banigo, from Edinburgh; and James Holt, of Bolton, Greater Manchester.