Home Outdoor education List of subjects confirmed for the CNEE

List of subjects confirmed for the CNEE


Hon Chris Hipkins

education Minister

The range of NCEA subjects that will be available to young people will be expanded for levels 2 and 3 of the curriculum, and Te Marautanga o Aotearoa levels 1 to 3, Education Minister Chris Hipkins said.

“After consulting with the education sector, students, their parents, whānau and communities this year, we landed on a total of 67 NCEA topics,” said Chris Hipkins.

“Of these, 56 are from the New Zealand curriculum and 11 from Te Marautanga o Aotearoa.

“This is an important step in a great work program called the NCEA Change Program, the main objective of which is to develop a system that will prepare New Zealand’s youth for the future.

“The subject changes announced today will increase specialization at Levels 2 and 3, support parity for mātauranga Māori, and provide clearer pathways to further education and employment.”

Most subjects in English and Maori middle secondary schools and kura will be implemented in schools between 2023 and 2025.

Main changes to
The New Zealand Curriculum understand:

Mau Rākau – a form of Maori performing arts, will be introduced from level 2 for all learners to access

· Whaiora will be added to the Health and Physical Education Learning Zone, to provide access to specialized learning on Maori models of well-being.

· Outdoor education and tourism have been added to the list of subjects for the development of standards of achievement.

· The original proposal to offer a visual arts subject is changing, with painting remaining a separate subject. This follows a review of comments received from teachers and creatives on the original proposal, which would have a visual arts topic that could be used to cover current sculpture, painting and printmaking topics. The new Visual Arts topic will cover sculpture and printmaking.

· Pacific Studies, a highly anticipated new subject, will be added to the Social Science Learning Zone, complementing the addition of Gagana Tokelau and Vagahau Niue to the Language Learning Zone.

· The technology learning area proposal has been further refined, bringing greater consistency and clearer pathways to its topics while retaining the options schools like to offer.

Key changes to
Te Marautanga or Aotearoa

Te Reo Pākehā, the study of English through an explicit Reo Maori and Ao Maori lens, will be added to levels 1, 2 and 3.

· Toi Whakairo, the study of Maori history, art and practice and other indigenous carvings has been added to Ngā Toi.

· There will also be continued development of existing topics aligned with Te Marautanga o Aotearoa. These subjects, which will be available from level 1, include Te Reo Rangatira, Pūtaiao, Tikanga-à-Iwi, Hangarau, Hauora, Toi Puoro, Toi Ataata, Ngā Mahi a te Rēhia and Pāngarau.

The Ministry of Education will develop all new topics and necessary materials, alongside experts from the secondary and tertiary sectors and industry.

Notes for Editors:


· The New Zealand Curriculum (NZC): the curriculum for schools that use English as the primary language of instruction.

Te Marautanga or Aotearoa (TMoA): The curriculum for schools that use Maori te reo as the primary language of instruction.

Web page links to general information: